placeholder

Destiny Vega

Associate

Pronouns: She/Her

Identities: Latina

Therapeutic Style: Adaptable, Engaging, and Open-Minded

Works with:

  • Individuals
  • Couples
  • Child/Family

Who I am as a Therapist

 

I believe that every person has the right to the process of healing. As we grow, from childhood to adulthood and on, many challenging things may happen in our lives that we may not fully understand. My aim as your therapist is to help you dissect those memories and make meaning of those moments while coming up with coping strategies that work with you. These difficulties can be tough to manage within ourselves and our family systems. My goal is to help you navigate those systems. I don’t think that therapy has to be serious all the time; I believe that therapy is something where you should laugh, cry, yell, and feel all of the feelings! With my background as a Latina living with an invisible disability, I recognize the oppressive structures that don’t support BIPOC/Disability populations, and my goal is to empower clients and allow space for those in underprivileged positions.

 

My passion is to work with BIPOC women and families surrounding issues involving disabilities, trauma, relationship struggles, blended families, and the military. It is important for us to discuss values that you may hold closely so we can work toward aligning those values with your therapeutic goals. I want to support your healing process and help you tap into your inner self. I will challenge you and encourage you to dig deep during our time together.

Specialty Areas

Mental Health Challenges 

  • Attachment & Relational Challenges
  • Biracial Couples/Families
  • Blended Family
  • Disability 
  • Divorce
  • Family members of People with Disability
  • Learning Disorders
  • Life Transitions
  • Military Challenges
  • Spirituality
  • Women’s Issues

Therapeutic Approaches 

  • Narrative Therapy

Who I am when I’m not a Therapist

 

When I’m not being a therapist, I enjoy surrounding myself with family and friends. I take pleasure in exploring good food, listening to podcasts, traveling, live music, and my weekly shows. About a year ago, I moved to Portland from Chicago. While I am a city girl at heart, my time in Portland has created a deep appreciation for nature and spirituality. I enjoy moving energy in my body by the means of weightlifting, hiking, dancing, skating, stretching, and exploring the local scenery. My sweet pup Theo loves to join me on my excursions especially to coffee shops to get a pupachinno!

Education 

  • MA in Marriage, Couple, and Family Therapy Student from Lewis and Clark College
  • BA in Disability and Human Development with a Psychology minor from the University of Illinois at Chicago

Training & Experience  

  • Internship with city of Chicago fighting for disability rights 

Get Started Today

Text or Call

(503) 349-2281